Long Way Home

June 1, 2009

hooters

I like this version of “500 Miles” so much I think I’ll post it (followed by one of the first versions of the old classic folk song). The Journeymen released it in 1961 and Bobby Bare relesed his in ’63. It was also recorded by Peter Paul et Mary, The Kingston Trio and a host of other folkies in the mid-sixties. Trouble is, nobody seems to know for certain who wrote it, coulda bin Bare, West, Phillips, Williams, me….it’s a mystery.

The Hooters – 500 Miles YT post by Demeter DS

from the album: Hooterization A Retrospective – 1996

 

The Generally accepted “Original” version – The Journeymen – 1961
YT post by PCMusic75
Journeymen = John Phillips, Scott McKenzie and good ole Dick Weissman
yt post by TheRunner75
 

 

 

Go Ahead – play it….live a little: Chords and lyrics from this here site:
Gm | Bb | Cm | Eb x2
Gm | F/D | Gm | F x2

Gm      Bb    Cm     Eb
If you miss the train I’m on, you will know that I am gone
    F        Eb F F
You can hear the whistle blow a hundred miles.
        Gm Bb
A hundred miles, a hundred miles,
        Cm Eb
A hundred miles, a hundred miles,
    F        Eb Gm F Gm F
You can hear the whistle blow a hundred miles.

Gm
Not a shirt on my back not a penny to my name,
And the land that I once left is not my own.
Lord, I’m one, Lord, I’m two, Lord, I’m three, Lord, I’m four,
Lord I’m five hundred miles away from home.

Solo

A hundred tanks along the square, one man stands and stops them there,
Some day soon the tide will turn and I’ll be free.
Ill be free, I’ll be free, I’ll come home to my country,
Some day soon the tide will turn and I’ll be free.

If you miss the train I’m on, you will know that I am gone,
You can hear the whistle blow a hundred miles.
Lord, I’m one, Lord, I’m two, Lord, I’m three, Lord, I’m four,
Lord I’m five hundred miles away from home.

Solo

I’ll be free, I’ll be free, I’ll come home to my country,
Lord I’m five hundred miles away from home.
Ooooh, you can hear the whistle blow a hundred miles …

Leave a Reply

