…and Where the Hell Were YOU?

January 23, 2010

Lead Belly (d. 1949) and Kurt Cobain (d. 1994). Both troubled American musicians from opposite ends of the 20th century.  Both from distinctly different times and places. Both singing the same old “traditional” song which has been covered and performed numerous times under various names (such as In the Pines).

Both brilliant.

Lead Belly – Where Did You Sleep Last Night? various cuts recorded between 1944 and 1948
YT post by RagtimeDorianHenry

Nirvana – Where Did You Sleep Last Night? (Unplugged In New York)

From Nirvana: Unplugged In New York – 1994
YT post by manga000anime

Lyrics: Where Did You Sleep…..

My girl, my girl, don’t lie to me
Tell me where did you sleep last night

In the pines, in the pines
Where the sun don’t ever shine
I would shiver the whole night through

My girl, my girl, where will you go
I’m going where the cold wind blows

In the pines, in the pines
Where the sun don’t ever shine
I would shiver the whole night through

Her husband, was a hard working man
Just about a mile from here
His head was found in a driving wheel
But his body never was found

My girl, my girl, don’t lie to me
Tell me where did you sleep last night

In the pines, in the pines
Where the sun don’t ever shine
I would shiver the whole night through

My girl, my girl, where will you go
I’m going where the cold wind blows

In the pines, in the pines
Where the sun don’t ever shine
I would shiver the whole night through

My girl, my girl, don’t lie to me
Tell me where did you sleep last night

In the pines, in the pines
Where the sun don’t ever shine
I would shiver the whole night through

My girl, my girl, where will you go
I’m going where the cold wind blows

In the pines, in the pines
Where the sun don’t ever shine
I would shiver the whole night through

KC pic credit

LB pic credit

One Response to “…and Where the Hell Were YOU?”

  1. Joe Says:

    The best version of this song was done in the 60s by The Four Pennies.


Leave a Reply

