YeeHa Plugged

October 31, 2010

I still talk to my good ole buddy Mike every now and then even though he lives a 2 hour plane ride followed by a 2 hour drive away. Back in the seventies, Mike and I and another West Islander moved 1500 miles away from home to “go to school”. Good times.

Mike decided to take a job as roadie for a great tight band that played sort of a new genre at the time – country rock. Mike dug it. I didn’t. So he bought me an Outlaws LP to impress me. I wasn’t.  But I did get into a few songs in a small way…and you sure can’t argue against the beat driven by these plugged in country boys. And the string work is pretty dang good dag nab it! Yessiree. Pretty dang good alright.

Nowadaze, country/southern rock seems to be making a bit of a comeback – but they don’t make em like they used to!

Green Grass and High Tides – Outlaws – 1975

(click on the album cover to view in YT)
Youtube post by asfsd
band pic from this cool blog

Leave a Reply

