Make Love Not More

April 3, 2011


image credit
Back in ’73, my cousin introduced me to the above Foghat LP. This was a real find for me because not only was it a great rockin album, but nobody inside or outside my circle of friends had ever heard of them. The song “I Just Want to Make Love To You” was also a first for me and for several years I thought it was their song. Of course I was wrong. As with so many songs of blues origin, the tune has been covered many, many times including Etta James and Willie Dixon (the song’s composer).

Here’s three versions: Muddy Waters from his concept LP “Electric Mud” ; A Group Called Smith (featuring the voice of Missouri girl Gayle McCormick); and “the original” by Foghat.

Muddy Waters – I Just Wanna Make Love To You – 1968

YouTube post by contrarymary77

Smith: YouTube post by KaRose982

Foghat; post by MusicIsLife32294

Leave a Reply

