To Know Him Is to Love Him

December 15, 2011


Leonard Cohen. The man’s from one of my home towns. Seems like he’s been with me my whole life – ever since Christmas 1968 which we spent at relatives in Ottawa. The cousins had a new turntable (we still had a record player) and they got a couple of LC albums which were playing day and night…….I came out of that one stunned. I wasn’t sure if I liked him or not. He was kinda “droney” I thought.
About 15 years ago, a friend and I did some deck work on another friend’s cabin. It was a beautiful place on a secluded, quiet lake. I think the only ones there were us and the next door neighbors.
So we started work early, had a few, played the tunes (pretty loudly) and had the sound of our power tools echoing through the spruce aspen forest. I admit we were loud and apparently upset the neighbors cuz when we returned after a good meal, to relax on the lakeshore the neighbor immediately put on Leonard Cohen, very loud, I guess figuring the guy wood drive us nuts.
Have you ever sat on the deck, looking out across a still lake, watching a beautiful sunset, in a secluded part of the world, drinking in the beauty as well as a couple of cold ones while being serenaded by a loud Leonard Cohen. Words cannot describe…..
Here is John Cale doing a LC cover with Suzanne Vega…crank it up a notch!

John Cale & Suzanne Vega – So Long Marianne released on Bleecker Street: Greenwich Village in the 60’s – 1999
Upload by 12343212343212341

cale image from rocknroll.net

Leave a Reply

