One Mississippi…

November 6, 2013

1963-dylan-in-the-south-80

image from pophistorydig.com

It was the fall of ’73. I was a student at John Abbott but spent most of my time working at a local drug store to get cash for things like albums, Le Manoir and concerts.

Working away in the stock room it’s announced on CHOM that Bob Dylan and The Band were coming to play the Forum on January 11 (Tour ’74). A couple of us dropped everything and sped downtown to buy tickets – there was already a huge long line-up down Atwater and around the corner. But we were determined to get tickets. And we did.

This was Bobby Z’s first tour since ’66 and having Danko and The Band there made the anticipation almost too much to bare. It was an amazing show in the most memorable era of rock concerts.

The song from his 1997 Time out of Mind sessions, has been covered by many but there is only one original. Lyrically, it is superb.
Mississippi – Bob Dylan – live 2002
YT post by Houston209

lyrics:

Every step of the way we walk the line  Your days are numbered, so are mine  Time is pilin’ up, we struggle and we scrape  We’re all boxed in, nowhere to escape

City’s just a jungle; more games to play  Trapped in the heart of it, tryin’ to get away  I was raised in the country, I been workin’ in the town  I been in trouble ever since I set my suitcase down

Got nothin’ for you, I had nothin’ before  Don’t even have anything for myself anymore  Sky full of fire, pain pourin’ down  Nothing you can sell me, I’ll see you around

All my powers of expression and thoughts so sublime  Could never do you justice in reason or rhyme  Only one thing I did wrong  Stayed in Mississippi a day too long

Well, the devil’s in the alley, mule’s in the stall  Say anything you wanna, I have heard it all  I was thinkin’ ’bout the things that Rosie said  I was dreaming I was sleepin’ in Rosie’s bed

Walkin’ through the leaves, falling from the trees  Feelin’ like a stranger nobody sees  So many things that we never will undo  I know you’re sorry, I’m sorry too

Some people will offer you their hand and some won’t  Last night I knew you, tonight I don’t  I need somethin’ strong to distract my mind  I’m gonna look at you ’til my eyes go blind

Well I got here followin’ the southern star  I crossed that river just to be where you are  Only one thing I did wrong  Stayed in Mississippi a day too long

Well my ship’s been split to splinters and it’s sinkin’ fast  I’m drownin’ in the poison, got no future, got no past  But my heart is not weary, it’s light and it’s free  I’ve got nothin’ but affection for all those who’ve sailed with me

Everybody movin’ if they ain’t already there  Everybody got to move somewhere  Stick with me baby, stick with me anyhow  Things should start to get interestin’ right about now

My clothes are wet, tight on my skin  Not as tight as the corner that I painted myself in  I know that fortune is waitin’ to be kind  So give me your hand and say you’ll be mine

Well, the emptiness is endless, cold as the clay  You can always come back, but you can’t come back all the way  Only one thing I did wrong  Stayed in Mississippi a day too long

Severe Weather Floodingjoeb-tallyho.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

