Not My Fault

November 22, 2013

jfk
I can be cynical at times. And they say that America’s cynicism started with the way The Warren Commission handled the Kennedy investigation. I dunno – I never trusted LBJ.
So 50 years ago huh. I remember where I was on 9-11. I remember hearing Lennon had been shot. I remember hearing on the radio that Elvis was dead. But nothing compares to November 22, 1963.
I was in Grade 2. We heard just before lunch. I ran home to eat, telling all the neighbours along the way. Told my mom and grandma – gobbled down my lunch and ran back to school. My teacher was acting quite differently and had the radio on in the classroom – she wasn’t able to teach so she told us to do whatever as we all sat there with the radio on.
I remember seeing the big wall clock at 1:17 for some reason. My teacher was in tears. And just after that they announced it – President Kennedy was dead.
This was maybe the biggest moment of my young life and I had no idea how it was about to change everything……or did it.
In a year that saw Billboard number ones go to memorable songs such as Sugar Shack, Sukiyaki, Surf City, Fingertips pt 2, Its My Party, Telestar and He’s So Fine, among others; the number one hit for the week prior and week after Nov 22 1963 was I’m Leaving It Up To You by Dale and Grace.
In spite of the attempt in the late 60’s to change the direction of things, the white flag went up and the attitude was, as the Cream song goes, “I’d love to change the world, but I don’t know what to do, so I’ll leave it up to you”.

Dale and Grace – I’m Leaving It Up To You #1 November 22 1963
YT post by tony torres

fault

Leave a Reply

