Blues E Daddy

November 29, 2013

sykes
from recallmusic.com

This is so sweet, especially for those loving old time blues in E. I threw in a couple of lessons…and remember with blues, you don’t just learn and play. You got to feel the blues….let it come out through your playing!
Blues classic written by Roosevelt Sykes (a.k.a. the honeydripper – the guy who looks more like a mobster than a musician above).

Howlin Wolf – 44 Blues – 1954

yt post by leon wadsworth

….compare & contrast with LFs version:
Little Feat – 44 Blues/How Many More Years/No Place To Go – 1971
lf

Learning:
44 Blues by Corey Harris
yt post by sonic juction

44 Blues – key of E – finger picking (watch for the 4 to the bar, bending, row switch between chords sub-lessons)
yt post by daddystovepipe

Wolf’s lyrics:

I wore my forty-four so long  I’ve made my shoulder sore  I wore my forty-four so long  And I made my shoulder sore

Well, I’m wonderin’ everybody  Where’d my baby go

Well, I’m so mad this mornin’  I don’t know where in the world to go  Well, I’m so mad this mornin’  I don’t know where in the world to go

Well, now I’m lookin’ for me some money  Pawned gun to have some gold

Leave a Reply

