JJ – Always My Man

December 21, 2013

jj
To be honest, when I first saw this I thought I’d died and gone to laid back guitar pickin’ paradise. As in Leon Russell’s Paradise Studios, for a relaxed jam with J.J. Cale and band.
You know, when I first picked up a copy of Naturally in 1972 (had to love that racoon and top hat) as a music hungry 16 year old, I never thought of JJ’s music as an Oklahoma fusion of blues, jazz, rockabilly, folk…..I just really dug his stuff. Still do.
It’s 80m minutes long so sit back, relax and enjoy!
JJ Cale & Leon Russell at the Paradise Studios, LA 1979
YT post by austinpickers

Here’s a great little bit from the NY Times….read it here and makes sure you view the embedded op-doc. Good stuff.

http://www.nytimes.com/2013/12/16/opinion/naturally-jj-cale.html?_r=0

 

Leave a Reply

