Pete’s Mystique

January 28, 2014

petes

Pete Seeger passed away today but his music and message, of course, will last many lifetimes. Above: Pete’s banjo which has written on it – “This machine surrounds hate and forces it to surrender”. The voice can be silenced. The message shall overcome all. Turn the page. Peace.

This gem was produced by PBS. The Power of Song……2007
yt post by DJChonUA

….and here he is, getting the audience to sing with him, performing a cover of Guantanamera:
Pete Seeger – Guantanamera
yt post by 2Old2Rock

and….Pete’s boy and I musta gone to the same school…
What Did You Learn in School Today – Pete Seeger (mountain banjo) – 1964
yt post by partridge662

What Did You Learn In School Today lyrics/chords

G D7
What did you learn in school today, dear little boy of mine,
G D7 G-G7
What did you learn in school today, dear little boy of mine?

C G
I learned that Washington never told a lie,
C G
I learned that soldiers seldom die.
C G
I learned that everybody’s free,
C G
That’s what the teacher said to me.
G D7 G
And that’s what I learned in school today, that’s what I learned in school.

C G
I learned that policemen are my friends,
C G
I learned that justice never ends.
C G
I learned that murderers die for their crimes,
C G
Even if we make a mistake sometimes.
G D7 G
And that’s what I learned in school today, that’s what I learned in school.

C G
I learned that wars are not so bad,
C G
I learned of the great ones we have had.
C G
We fought in Germany and in France,
C G
And someday I might get my chance.
G D7 G
And that’s what I learned in school today, that’s what I learned in school.

C G
I learned our government must be strong,
C G
It’s always right and never wrong.
C G
Our leaders are the finest men,
C G
And so we elect them again and again.
G D7 G
And that’s what I learned in school today, that’s what I learned in school.

Leave a Reply

