The Catman Does

April 26, 2015

nytimesBefore and after – NY Times

I’ve intro’d this before, from France2 way back in 1970. Cat with Alun Davies on cigarette:
Cat Stevens – Katmandu

The intro is really quite easy once you get the picking down: Think D shape (1st (E) string second fret (D chord), fifth fret (F;D shape), seventh fret (G;D shape), standard C.
from chordie:

D C D C D C D C

D C D
I sit be side the dark

F
Beneath the mir e

C G
C old grey du sty day

D/A A A (strum) C G D

The morning lake drinks up the sky

CHORUS #1:

RIFF 1 C G C G D

Katmandu, I’ll soon be seeing you

F G C
And your st range, bewil dering t ime

F G RIFF 2 C/G B/G RIFF 3

Will hold me down

D C D C D C D C

Chop me some broken wood

We’ll start a fire

White, warm, light the dawn

And help me see, oh Satan’s tree

CHORUS #2:

Katmandu, I’ll soon be seeing you

And your strange, bewildering time

Will hold me down

Pass me my hat and coat

Lock up the cabin

Slow night, treat me right

Until I go, be nice to know

CHORUS #3:

Katmandu, I’ll soon be seeing you

And your strange, bewildering time

Will keep me home

Leave a Reply

