The Great Escape

May 5, 2015

tired_of_waiting11

from gatheringtucson

You’ve heard the expression “born dead” to describe the future of those living in certain parts of Turtle Island….and around the world. This song by Townes pretty much sums up our place in time. (I’d love to change the world, but I don’t know what to do, so I’ll just self-medicate and leave it up to you).
As one commenter on YT says, “If you can make the blacksmith (Seymour Washington) cry, you’ve written a good tune”. Another comment pointed out that when Seymour died, it rained hard and steady in Clarksville. Tears from above falling on all of us.

This is one special bit of video.

Waiting Around to Die – Townes Van Zandt from Heartworn Highways – 1976

post by figurebob

from chordie: (or, if you’re like Townes on this video, you drop it down to a:m – d:m and maybe throw in an E major). But it’s the lyrics and minor chords that draw the tears (and today, TVZ performing it).

Lyrics:
C#m F#m
Sometimes I don’t know where this dirty road is taking me
C#m G#m
Some times I don’t even know the reason why
C#m
I guess I’ll keep a’gambling
F#m
Lots of booze and lots of rambling
C#m G#m C#m
It’s easier than just a- waitin’ around to die
One-time friends I had a ma, I even had a pa
He beat her with a belt once cause she cried
She told him to take care of me
She headed down to Tennessee
It’s easier than just a-waitin’ ’round to die
I came of age and found a girl in a Tuscaloosa bar
She cleaned me out and hit it on the sly
I tried to kill the pain
I bought some wine and hopped a train
Seemed easier than just a-waitin’ ’round to die
A friend said he knew where some easy money was
We robbed a man and brother did we fly
The posse caught up with me
Drug me back to Muskogee
It’s two long years, just a-waitin’ ’round to die
Now I’m out of prison, I got me a friend at last
He don’t steal or cheat or drink or lie
His name’s codeine
He’s the nicest thing I’ve seen
Together we’re gonna wait around and die

Leave a Reply

