Burn Bridges

June 9, 2015

BurnBridge33

On the news a couple of weeks ago there was a story that ran a couple of days before it disappeared about the oil pipeline spill into the Pacific Ocean near Los Angeles. After the story was a commercial by an oil pipeline company named Enbridge showing us that “Life Takes Energy”. To me, there was something wrong with the picture Enbridge is painting and the picture I just saw on the news story…..

Whenever I think of Big Oil, I think of Hoyt Axton’s “The Pusher” by Steppenwolf. Life takes energy / energy takes life.

John Kay & Steppenwolf – The Pusher from Live In Louisville – 2004

by PeutEtreDejaVu

The way I play it is simple. Imagine a three fingered A chord. But use your middle finger on the D string (E note) so that you are only on two strings (D and B). Slide it up to fourth fret except drop your third finger replacing it with your index on the third fret B string. Slide it up to fifth going back to original shape (3rd finger fifth fret B string – middle finger, fifth fret, D string. Then slide down to second shape again on third and fourth fret.  Finally land on original. Repeat as necessary. Ha. Clear as tar?

Lyrics:

You know I smoked a lot of grass
Oh Lord I popped a lot of pills
But I never touched nothin’
That my spirit could kill

You know I’ve seen a lot of people
Walking around with tombstones in their eyes
But the pusher don’t care
Ah if you live or if you die

God damn, the pusher, God damn, hey I say the pusher
I say, “God damn, God damn the pusherman”

You know the dealer, the dealer is a man
With a lot of grass in his hand
Ah but the pusher is a monster
Good god he’s not a natural man

The dealer, for a nickel lord
He’ll sell you lots of sweet dreams
Ah but the pusher’ll ruin your body
Lord he’ll leave, he’ll leave your mind to scream

God damn, the pusher, god damn, God damn the pusher
I said, “God damn, God, God damn the pusherman”

Well Lord if I were the president of this land
You know I’d declare total war on the pusherman
I’d cut him if he stands and I shoot him if he’d run
And I’d kill him with my bible and my razor and my gun

God damn, the pusher, god damn, the pusher
I said, “God damn, God damn the pusherman”

Leave a Reply

