For the Other Half of the Sky

August 29, 2015

otters-Nagyman-flickr

1980? Really? I don’t remember having that much fun the past 35 years.

I was fooling around on the guitar and said to myself “that sounds like Woman“….but I wasn’t sure what the chord was after the D variations so I looked it up on Ultimate Guitar. (G6….probably the easiest chord in standard tuning – gotta have these ears looked at). The only suggestion I’d make to the intro is: to sound like the studio version don’t go directly from G6 to D but insert a standard G (open G string / B on the third fret / E on the third fret).

I left the description and formatting the same as the site but here is the link.


JOHN LENNON – WOMAN

(Album: Double Fantasy)

Tabbed by: Swayne (3.8.2007) –
Released: January 16, 1981
Recorded: August 5, August 27, September 8, September 22, 1980
Length: 3:32
Label: Geffen Records
Producer(s): John Lennon, Yoko Ono & Jack Douglas

“Woman” is John’s ode to his wife Yoko Ono, which is introduced by Lennon whispering,
“For the other half of the sky…” – an expression coined by Mao. “Woman” was the
second single released from the Double Fantasy album, and the first Lennon single
issued after his death on December 8, 1980. The B-side of the single is Ono’s song
“Beautiful Boys”.

CHORDS:

D        x00232
Dsus4    x00233
G6/D     xx0000
Dmaj7    x00222
Em       022000
F#m      244222
Bm       224432
A        002220
Asus4    002230
Eb       xx5343 (66504x)
Ebmaj7   xx1333
Fm       122111
Gm       355333
Cm       335543
Ab       466544
Bb       688766 (113331)
Bbsus4   688866 (113341)

–> Standard tuning  E-A-D-G-B-e
–> Capo on 1st

INTRO:
| Dsus4 D | G6/D D |
| Dsus4 D | G6/D D |

VERSE 1:
D    Em      F#m            Em
Woman, I can hardly express
D         Bm          Em               Asus4, A
My mixed emotion at my thoughtlessness
G      Em       F#m                Asus4, A
After all I’m forever in your debt

VERSE 2:
D    Em       F#m         Em
And woman, I will try express
D        Bm          Em             Asus4, A
My inner feelings and thankfullness
G           Em     F#m          Asus4, A
For showing me the meaning of succe___ ss

CHORUS:
Dmaj7         Bm           Em                  A
Ooh_________________ well, well… Doo doo doo doo-doo
Dmaj7         Bm           Em                  A
Ooh_________________ well, well… Doo doo doo doo-doo

VERSE 3:
D    Em           F#m         Em
Woman, I know you understand
D          Bm      Em           Asus4, A
The little child inside the man
G        Em         F#m             Asus4, A
Please remember, my life is in your hands

VERSE 4:
D    Em        F#m                 Em
And woman, hold me close to your heart
D       Bm             Em            A
However distant, don’t keep us apart
G      Em        F#m            Asus4, A
After all, it is written in the sta___ rs

CHORUS:
Dmaj7         Bm           Em                  A
Ooh_________________ well, well… Doo doo doo doo-doo
Dmaj7         Bm           Em                  A
Ooh_________________ well, well… Doo doo doo doo-doo

VERSE 5:
Eb   Fm       Gm       Fm
Woman, please let me explain
Eb      Cm                 Fm           Bb
I never meant to cause you sorrow or pain
Ab        Fm        Gm                   Bbsus4, Bb
So let me tell you again and again and aga______ in

CHORUS:
Ebmaj7  Cm      Fm                 Bb
I lo___ve you! Yeah, yeah… now and forever
Ebmaj7  Cm      Fm                 Bb
I lo___ve you! Yeah, yeah… now and forever
Ebmaj7  Cm      Fm                 Bb
I lo___ve you! Yeah, yeah… now and forever
Ebmaj7  Cm      Fm                 Bb
I lo___ve you! Yeah, yeah… now and forever

(REPEAT AND FADE)

Leave a Reply

