Flashes of Brilliance

January 11, 2016

two

above: from bbc.co.uk

I wasn’t a big Bowie fan. Sure, I had Aladin Sane and Diamond Dogs but he just didn’t click with me.

I always thought of him as a big star whose aura would burn out quickly. A flash in the pan. Yeah, I’ve been wrong before….but seldom that wrong. Turns out his light lasted much longer than I ever expected it would.

This song reminds me of my close friend and piano player, Suff. He would just crank it up on his (ridiculously expensive) car sound system and because of that, the song was a big part of the soundtrack of my life in the seventies. We decided that when we got our band going that this would be on our setlist. But a drunk driver in California took his dreams away at twenty-two.

And since I live in the original “suffragette city”….why not?

To Ziggy and Suff – RIP boys:

Suffragette City – David Bowie – from The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars – 1972

post by Allan Mardle

And of course the cover of Space Oddity from space (link) noting that today there has been a reversal; Cmdr Hadfield has returned to planet earth, David Bowie is in the heavens. Stardust.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

