Which Way You Goin’ Billycock

January 15, 2016

image from worldsendshop.co.uk and themuscisover.ca

My ancestors were (mad) hatters in the Cork area a few centuries back. And I like the story of the bowler hat, symbol of South American indigenous people, the poor in Britain, wealthy aristocrats, bankers and rock stars. Yes, John Bonham liked to wear them from time to time.

So when I first saw this video, I was as surprised and pleased as JB’s bandmates when after the guitar solo, the choir appears with his trademark headgear. Very nice touch.

I also have a great deal of respect for the band Heart owed mainly to a concert I had the pleasure of witnessing at the Forum just before they became big, big stars. It was one of the most intense stage performances I have ever seen.

Ann & Nancy Wilson (Heart) featuring Jason Bonham – Stairway To Heaven – Kennedy Center Honors Led Zeppelin  – 2012

post by Larry Rulz

Leave a Reply

