Wishing We Was in Winslow

January 20, 2016

There’s other versions of this song out there that are more interesting. Live in D.C. in ’77 for example. But for this song, you have to listen to the original studio pressing….on vinyl.

Glenn Frey’s opening chords (G, C2 Dsus4) are so clear and crisp. It didn’t matter if you had a record player with a quarter taped to the needle arm….it still sounded good. Dealers used to flip this onto the turntable when selling sound systems to unsuspecting ears.

For me it brings strong memories of sitting in a west island basement with a bunch of 16 year old friends, drinking Golden and filling the room with smoke……ah yes…the Golden days of youthful exuberance.
And yes, I did go to Winslow, Arizona specifically because of this song.

Thanks for that Frey. Take it easy.
Take It Easy (original studio recording – w/Lyrics) – 1972
by TheOnlyCaden

chords from e-chords.com:
INTRO: (and y’know – just G,C,D on a 12 string sounds good)
G C2 Dsus4
G C2 Dsus4

G G
Well, I’m a runnin’ down the road, tryin’ to loosen my load,
D C
I’ve got seven women on my mind.
G D
Four that wanna own me, two that wanna stone me,
C G
one says she’s a friend of mine.
Em C G
Take it easy, take it ea – sy,
Am C Em
don’t let the sound of your own wheels drive you crazy.
C G C G
Lighten up while you still can, don’t even try to understand,
Am C G
just find a place to make your stand and take it easy.

G
Well, I’m a standin’ on a corner in Winslow, Arizona
D C
and such a fine sight to see:
G D
it’s a girl, my Lord, in a flat bed Ford
C G
slowin’ down to take a look at me.
Em D C G
Come on, ba – by, don’t say may – be.
Am C Em
I gotta know if your sweet love is gonna save me.
C G C G
We may lose and we may win though we will never be here again.
Am C G
So open up, I’m climbin’ in, so take it easy.

guitar solo
G D C
G D C G
Em C G
Am C G

G
Well, I’m a runnin’ down the road, tryin’ to loosen my load,
D C
got a world of trouble on my mind.
G D
Lookin’ for a lover who won’t blow my cover,
C G
she’s so hard to find.
Em C G
Take it easy, take it ea – sy,
Am C Em
don’t let the sound of your own wheels drive you crazy.
C G C G
Come on, ba – by, don’t say may – be.
Am C G
I gotta know if your sweet love is gonna save me.

C G
C G
C G G9 C
Oh, we got it ea – sy,
G G9 C
we oughta take it ea – sy.

(end on) Em

Electric Part
GUITAR 2

(clean electric)

Leave a Reply

