Who’s in the Drivers’ Seat?

January 29, 2016

uber

The Donald has put himself ahead of the “peoples’ right to know” huh. And I thought a crack-smoking mayor was bad. It’ll be a time we remember oh so well. For better or worse.
Just be careful who you allow to drive you huh.

The Band – The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down 1978
by Kanal von bluearmyfr111

from chordie (chords are not in place)

C Am C/G F F/E Dm
Virgil Caine is the name, and I serve d on th e Danvill e train,

Am C/G F F/E Dm
‘Til Stoneman’ s Calvery came an d tore up th e tracks again.

Am/E F C Dm
In the winter o f ’65, We wer e hungry, jus t barely alive.

Am/E F C Dm D
By May the tenth , Richmond had fell, it’s a ti me I remember, oh s o well,

Chorus

C/G Fmaj7 C/G Fmaj7
The Night They Dr ove Old Dixie Down, and the bells were ringing,

C/G Fmaj7 C/G Fmaj7
The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down, and the people were singin’. They went

C/G Am D/F# F
Na, Na, Na, Na, Na, Na, Na, Na, Na, Na, Na, Na, Na, Na,

Am C F F/E Dm
Back with my wife i n Tennessee, Whe n one day sh e called t o me,

Am C F F/E Dm
“Virgil , quick, come see , there goe s the Robert E . Lee!”

Am/E F C Dm
Now I don’t min d choppin’ wood, and I don’t care if th e money’s no good.

Am/E F
Ya take what ya need and y a leave the rest,

C Dm D
But the y never should hav e taken the ver y best. (Chorus)

Am C F F/E Dm
Like my father before me , I wil l work th e land,

Am C F F/E Dm
Like my brothe r above me , who took a rebe l stand.

Am/E F C Dm
He was just eighteen , proud and brave, But a Yankee laid hi m in his grave,

Am/E F
I swear by the mud below my feet,

C Dm D
Yo u can’t raise a Caine bac k up when he’s in defeat. (Chorus and fade)

Leave a Reply

