There is a Reason

February 15, 2016

riel

“Riel and his band of criminals.” That’s how my uncle described Louis Riel and his Red River Uprising in one of his articles about the 1869 rebellion…..

“I aint no frog” was how my brother-in-law described his heritage many years ago. He is now a card carrying Metis. His father’s great-uncles are seated with Louis in the above photo.

The times have changed.

Willie Dunn lived in my hometown. Now I live in Louis’ home town….and his province. The great circle.

Today is Louis Riel Day in my province. A day to celebrate the man who led this province to become the first to join a very young four province country.

Willie Dunn – Louis Riel

post by RipStuNov22

Leave a Reply

