Musical Military Complex

February 19, 2016

steely

I can’t tell you the flood of memories that rush through my head when I hear certain Steely Dan songs. And it was Skunk Baxter that introduced me to the Telecaster and the happiness stemming from his speciality solo guitar work.

Now he is a U.S. Defence Department adviser to the Ballistic Missile Defense Organization……brake/screech!!. What??

Here, as they pretend play their way through one of those songs that gave me so much joy, I have to admit that in 20/20 hindsight, they appear to be dangerously close to being swallowed whole by the disco obsession that threatened to take over the world. And that campy cheering at the end? Sheesh. (Military adviser huh!)
From my high school grad year – 1973. And I did go back once:

My Old School – Steely Dan
post by commercialnewsandfun

 

Leave a Reply

