One Last Desperate Escape

July 23, 2016

asdtoronto

One Last Desperate Escape. So I’m walking around the repressive heat, foul air and corporate hustle that is downtown Toronto and decide to escape to my favourite part of that city. A short ferry ride and you arrive at the islands. A few minutes walking and you find yourself on the other side. The other side…a world away.

Naturally, I am listening to a product of that city: Birds of Bellwoods. Here, they cover Radiohead’s desperate view of the planet condition.

Birds of Bellwoods – Idioteque (Radiohead Cover) –  2015


Idioteque – lyrics and chords for an easy version (or if you want to play along with the boys, they play it A:m, C, F) from UltimateGuitar:

Em                   G
Who’s in a bunker? Who’s in a bunker?
C
Women and children first and the children first and the children
Em              G
I laugh until my head comes off
C
I swallow till I burst  until I burst until I
Em                 G
Who’s in a bunker, who’s in a bunker
C
I have seen too much I haven’t seen enough you haven’t seen it
Em              G
I laugh until my head comes off
C
Women and children first and children first and children
Chorus:
Em          G                              C
Here I’m allowed… everything all of the time
Em          G                              C
Here I’m allowed… everything all of the time
Verse 2(the same chords):
Ice age coming
Ice age coming
Let me hear both sides
Let me hear both sides
Let me hear both
Ice age coming
Ice age coming
Throw it on the fire
Throw it on the fire
Throw it on the
We’re not scaremongering
This is really happening
Happening
We’re not scaremongering
This is really happening
Happening
Mobile’s quirking
Mobile’s chirping
Take the money and run
Take the money and run
Take the money
Chorus (2x)
Em          G                              C
Here I’m allowed… everything all of the time
Em          G                              C
Here I’m allowed… everything all of the time
Em          G                              C
Here I’m allowed… everything all of the time
Em          G                              C
Here I’m allowed… everything all of the time

 

Leave a Reply

