Speedball Timing

August 17, 2016

speedTo: Mr. Mourant (my childhood neighbour and trucker who often took me and Lorne along to “work” with him). Truck photo from 50’s TV show CannonBall.

You know them truckers bin poppin’ west coast turnarounds since way before Croce sang ’bout ’em. And hearts have bin broke forever and ever. Amen.

Thanks to ‘brother’ David for reminding me that Freddie was on deck. Damn. Gotta get me one of them ‘Dobro’ resonator Ukes. Maybe I’ll take a look around next time I’m in Edina.

Fred Eaglesmith & Tif Ginn -Trucker Speed – Omrop Fryslân radio 05-03-2016

post by geosurveyor

Fred Eaglesmith – Truckers Speed

G D
I got her letter in an old mail box
C
I forgot at I had at a little truck stop
G D
And I read it once and read it again
C
I could hardly keep from cryin I’ve been driving around the last week or so
With an empty truck I don’t have a load
I don’t care ’cause to tell you the truth
I think I might be dyin
G D
And it’s trucker speed, benzedrine
C
Percocets and amphetamines
G D C
Black beautys and west coast turn arounds
G D
When the coast is clear I drive with my knees
C
I mix it all up like a recipie
G D C
Coca-cola and coffee to wash it down
G D C
Sometimes I feel like my wheels ain’t touching the ground
At the side of the road he said you’re a mess
When I told him she didn’t leave an address
Then he got another call said wait right here
I’ll be back in a little while
I put my head across my arms
Slept on the wheel for an hour or more
And I started it up and took off into the night
Chorus
I’ve been high-centered, low throttle
When I couldn’t stop I peed in a bottle
I’ve been so lonesome I made Hank Willaims
Look like a party of five
I’ve been beat up broke down
Load it on a truck and drive it to town
I always thought she’d be there at the end of the line
I always thought she’d be there at the end of the line
Chorus

Leave a Reply

