Warsaw Times

August 23, 2016

sadWhen I was about sixteen I came to town and visited my cousin.  He was eighteen and was writing for a local newspaper. He lived on Warsaw with a few other media guys. We walked up the stairs into the front room. Books by authors like J. R. R. Tolkien, Kurt Vonnegut & Douglas Adams, hash pipes and pizza boxes were everywhere. They had an awesome sound system and more albums than I had ever seen in one spot. This was cool.

Another thing that struck me was that the front door wasn’t locked. I asked him about it and he replied that if someone wants to come in and help themselves they were welcome to…….I still scratch my head about that one. Cool but kinda weird in a ‘hippie commune’ kinda way.

The thing is; years later, when I got my first place in a small rural town, I always left the doors unlocked – my friends from the city were always in disbelief.

Anyway….he pulls out an LP with a cartoon grin on the cover and asks me if I’d ever heard Grin and a guy named Nils Lofgren before……

Onto the turntable it goes and I’m hooked.

From the album All Out – Sad Letter – Grin ~ 1973

post by Tim Gorman

 

Leave a Reply

