nakiskâta – meet it

November 2, 2016

crossLyndale Drive when night meets day where east meets west and north meets south. The heart of Turtle Island. A meeting place. Cross purposes?

Cree is an interesting language. Here’s some appropriate words…..the fire continues:

feed the fire….pôna

late afternoon/early evening … otâkosiki

make a fire….kotawê

I posted one of this guy’s songs just last week but this is too good to pass up. What attracted me to it was the lyrics, the south-west setting of the video’s imagery and most of all, the very evident mergence and musical flavor which results when Adele meets The Good Bad & the Ugly…..

Barns Courtney – Fire

Courtney’s Fire from ultimate-guitar.com

Em
Lonely shadow’s following me
G
lonely ghost come crawling
A
lonely voices talking to me
Em
now I’m gone now I’m gone now I’m gone
and my mother told me
A
“son let it be”
G
sold my soul to the calling
Em
sold my soul to sweet melody
G            A            Em
now I’m gone now I’m gone now I’m gone
[Chorus]
Em
now give me that fire
G
now give me that fire
A
now give me that fire
Em
burn burn burn
[Verse]
Em
thousand faces staring at me
G
thousand times I’ve fallen
Em
thousand voices dead at my feet
G            A               Em
now I’m gone now I’m gone now I’m gone
Em
and my mother told me
“son let it be”
G
sold my soul to the calling
Em
sold my soul to sweet melody
G            A                Em
now I’m gone now I’m gone now I’m gone
[Chorus]
Em
now give me that fire
G
now give me that fire
A
now give me that fire
Em
burn burn burn
ghosts and devils come calling
Am
calling my name out
E                D   E
lost in the fire
E                        G
sweet virgin blood is calling
A
calling my name out
C
lost in the fire
Em
now give me that fire
G
now give me that fire
A
now give me that fire
Em
burn burn burn
Em
now give me that fire
G
now give me that fire
A
now give me that fire
Em
burn burn burn

 

Leave a Reply

