Dashing Through the Snow

December 15, 2016

Image result for one horse open sleigh

image from Detroit Free Press

Troika (Russian triplet) = Three horses. Three horses, one movement (Troika is the fourth movement of Lieutenant Kijé).?

I think it was my eighth birthday. My mother decided to organise a tally-ho horse drawn sleigh ride at a local stable for my birthday party. I was allowed to invite maybe 15 kids. It was winter like above and as we were pulled through the woods we discovered it was more fun to push each other off into the snow…then try to run back, jump on and start over….this went on for the entire ride and it was the best birthday ever. At least according to my friends who managed to stay on the sleigh the longest.

You may recognise this from Greg Lake’s “I Believe in Father Christmas”.

Lieutenant Kijé by Sergei Prokofiev – Fourth movement: Troika

YouTube post by amtrow

 

Leave a Reply

