Knowledge Quest

December 30, 2016

Related image

One of my favourite images from 2016. Its not about baseball, or The Cubs or even winning. Its the smile. And what we don’t see. The hard work, the years of frustration, agony, disappointment. The getting up from the dirt and rising up yet again to try. The belief that maybe one day Lucy won’t pull that football away from Charlie Brown. Anything is possible. And that moment when you see the light can be very satisfying.

From the moment he was born, I always dreamed of playing this song with my son. It hasn’t happened yet but since my son gave me the gift of knowing and loving a grandson, I have realized that maybe priorities have evolved…..as Stevens once said  years after recording the song: “I was listening to that song recently and I heard one line and realized that that was my father’s father’s father’s father’s father’s father’s father’s father speaking”.

Flaming Lips released a song titled “Flight Test” and were sued by Sony for Stevens on the grounds that it was unacceptably similar to Father and Son……

The song is beautiful on a whole bunch of different levels.

Cat Stevens – Father and Son   1970

yt post by ladygamu

(Cat Stevens) Yusuf Islam – Father and Son – NPR Tiny Desk 2016
yt post by Ayshes CLeuy

Leave a Reply

