The Garden of Edinburgh

April 6, 2017

scott_monument_edinburgh_scotland_G3294

Scott Monument – Edinburgh

So there I was in Edinburgh, one of my favorite places…not too big…not too small. I’m chatting with the locals when one asks “Where in America are you from?”

“I presently call Winnipeg my home. You heard of it?” I reply, half expecting a shoulder shrug.

“Heard of it? I have family there. I was just there visiting them last year” was his almost triumphant, heavily accented answer.

Yes, it’s a small, mad world alright.

The Waterboys were formed in Edinburgh, many decades ago by my Scottish brother from a different mother – Mike Scott.

This song can be heard here, there and everywhere…it has that “Dylan on steroids” vibe.

So in true fisherman fashion I’ll bite.

The Waterboys – Fishermam’s Blues

Leave a Reply

